Cyansky P25 V2.0

1lumen selects and reviews products personally. We may earn affiliate commissions through our links, which help support our testing.

Cyansky P25 V2.0 review: flashlight test

Cyansky P25 V2.0 specifications

Brand & ModelCyansky P25 V2.0
LEDCREE XHP70.3 HD
Lumens3,600 Lumens
Beam intensity10,800 cd 
Battery config.1*21700
Onboard chargingBattery has a USB-C port
Modes5
BlinkiesStrobe / SOS
ReflectorOP
WaterproofIPX8 
Review publication dateSeptember 2022

Introduction:

I’m pretty excited to lay my hands on my first Micro-Arc Oxidation (MAO) flashlight. The Cyansky P25 V2.0 comes in either a black anodised finish or a pale silver micro-arc oxidation finish. When Cyansky asked which one I’d like to test, I requested MAO.

Dave previously reviewed the first version of the Cyansky P25 with an XHP70.2 emitter and now I have the opportunity to review the Cyansky P25 V2.0 with an XHP70.3 emitter.

The P25 V2.0 was originally marketed as a tactical flashlight but, after community feedback about there being no direct access to Strobe or Turbo from off, Cyansky now markets it as a floody Outdoor flashlight. I’d consider it to be a large EDC flashlight.

Let’s see what improvements have been made since the first version!

Package quality.

The P25 V2.0 came in a blue and gray Cyansky branded retail box with a plastic tray. The box features a picture of the flashlight on the front and has specifications about the flashlight’s performance on the back.

  • Cyansky P25 V2.0
  • Cyansky BL2150U protected 21700 5000mAh battery with USB-C charging
  • Holster
  • Spare o-ring
  • Spare rubber tail switch boot
  • Lanyard
  • USB-A to USB-C charging cable
  • Manual
  • Warranty Card

Flashlight in use

It feels like I’m holding a lightsaber when the Cyansky P25 V2.0 MAO is in my hand. The beam isn’t narrow like a lightsaber but the flashlight physically reminds me of a lightsaber. 

The flashlight feels smooth and almost chalky. The forward-clicky tail switch has a small boot and it provides a satisfying click when turning the flashlight on and off. I can easily find the electronic side switch in the dark due to the metal switch cover with a circular pattern that adds grip.

Cyansky included a holster that may be attached to a belt. I didn’t use the holster. Instead, I carried two phones and the P25 V2.0 in one pocket while traveling and they all fit comfortably. It may not be your normal EDC flashlight due to the size but my phone is longer and my pockets are big.

There are two lanyard holes in the tailcap for the included lanyard. This is a great way to attach a lanyard because it allows the flashlight to tail stand without the lanyard getting in the way.

A small pocket clip was included but I removed it and scratched the MAO finish. I found that the P25 V2.0 rolls around without the pocket clip attached and stops rolling when it hits the side switch.

The flashlight can tail stand. I used the P25 V2.0 as a bedside lamp by tailstanding it and entering Eco mode while staying at a hotel. The output was bright so I ended up placing the flashlight on its side to bounce the beam off a wall instead of illuminating the whole room by bouncing the beam off the ceiling.

The Cyansky P25 V2.0 is also good for walking around a park, walking the dog, and lighting up a forest while camping.

Build Quality, and Warranty

The matte silver micro-arc oxidation coating with a marble-like pattern gives this aluminium flashlight a modern rustic look and feel. It feels smooth and the unique design adds grip. There is plenty of grip on the tail and head, and the tube has seven groves to make it less likely for the flashlight to slip out of my hand.

The metal side switch with a battery status LED has a grippy circular pattern that makes it easy to find.

The tail switch boot is about half the diameter of the tail cap. It gives a satisfying click when pressed. The forward-clicky switch is firm and activates nicely when pressed.

Two springs in the tail cap help improve battery capability by making a strong connection. The spare switch boot cover can be installed by first removing the retaining ring around the double springs with some tweezers.

Physical reverse polarity protection appears to have been designed in a way that allows flat top 21700 cells to work. The two notches are positioned slightly wide so that they make contact with the cell when it has been inserted incorrectly.

The aluminum body has a Micro-Arc Oxidation coating. The coating is also on the inside of the tube. There are no sharp edges but I stained the flashlight twice. Once when I got lubricant from the threads on it. And a second time when I left it pressed against a red and white plastic book cover. I managed to wipe the stains off easily.

Square cut threads are smooth to turn but they get dirty with lubricant.

The holster is pretty good! It fits the flashlight snugly with elastic sides and it has a velcro cover. I saw a video of someone using velcro in a tactical situation but this flashlight is better suited for general outdoor use.

The small pocket clip fits securely on the flashlight. It would be nice if it were deep carry. The lanyard is also a bit small.

Warranty:

“15 days free replacement: If the product has quality problems under normal use within 15 days from the date of sale, customers can choose to replace the new product. The replacement product should be the same model and specifications as the new product. As the same model and specifications are no longer in production, the replacement will be not lower than the original product performance of similar products of the same brand.”

LED, Lens, Bezel, Beam, and Reflector

The Cyansky P25 V2.0 has a CREE XHP70.3 HD emitter. Centered with a white gasket, and surrounded by a small orange peel reflector. A glass lens with an anti-reflective coating sits between the reflector and bezel. The bezel is smooth and appears to be glued down.

I have taken Correlated Color Temperature (CCT) and Color Rendering Index (CRI, RA of R1-R8) measurements with the flashlight positioned half a meter away from an Opple Light Master Pro III (G3).

The CCT is about 6200K and the CRI is around 71.  

The Delta u, v is around 0.003 (slightly green) on lower modes and neutral (pure white) on Turbo.

The beam has a smooth white hot spot with a green corona and a bit of purple around the spill. The beam looks white to my eyes when the view is viewed on a white wall. It is not very green.

ModeCCT (K)CRI (Ra)xyDuv
Eco621171.0 0.31760.33550.0041
Low619271.5 0.31800.33490.0036
Medium621371.60.31760.33440.0035 
High623772.0 0.31740.3321 0.0025
Turbo673973.10.31000.3194 -0.0004

Dimensions and size comparison

Dimensions: 

DimensionMillimetersInches
Length145.45.724
Head diameter30.11.185
Body diameter25.91.019

Weight

WeightGramsOz.
Without battery94.63.34
With battery167.55.91

Flashlight size comparison with its competition

Group 1: VezerLezer ED10, Cyansky P25 V2.0 MAO, Brinyte E18 Pheme

Driver & User Interface:

A boost driver has been used to drive the XHP70.3 emitter.

Available modes: Eco, Low, Medium, High, Turbo

Available blinky modes: Strobe, SOS

User interface:

From OFF:

  • Click the tail switch: On (mode memory)
  • Half press the tail switch: Momentary on (mode memory)

From ON:

  • Press and hold the side switch for 1 second: Strobe
  • Click the side switch:  Cycle (Low, Medium, High, Turbo)
  • Click the tail switch: Off

Mode memory:

  • There is mode memory. It will enter Eco, Low, Medium or High from off. If you previously used Turbo, it will change to High when turning the flashlight on.

Shortcuts:

  • To Eco: From off, hold the side switch and click the tail switch.

Battery level indication:

The indicator light in the side-switch will turn on for three seconds when the flashlight is powered on.

  • Green light: 81%-100%
  • Green light blinking: 51%-80%
  • Red light: 21%-50%
  • Red light blinking: 0%-20%

Low voltage warning:

  • There is Low Voltage Protection (LVP). The light turned off at 2.81V and continued to consume 0.87mA. The LED indicator in the switch flashes red three times per minute and the main emitter flashes two times per minute when the voltage is low.

Strobe/blinkies

  • Strobe: Press and hold the side switch for 1 second. The strobe frequency continuously switches between fast and slow flashes.
  • SOS: From Strobe, press and hold the side switch for 1 second.

Lock-out mode: 

  •  There is no lock-out mode. The flashlight has a shrouded mechanical tail switch.

PWM

  • I did not notice any visible PWM (flickering).

Additional info on the UI: 

  • Turbo automatically steps down to 1000 lumens after one minute to prevent overheating.
  • Direct access to Strobe and Turbo would have been nice. This would make the flashlight more suitable for tactical purposes.
  • While in Eco mode, you can click the side switch to Cycle (Eco, Low, Medium, High, Turbo). Eco is not in the general cycle group.

Batteries & Charging

A protected button top Cyansky 21700 5000mAh cell with built-in USB-C charging was included. The cell was 3.81V upon arrival. It came inside the flashlight with a piece of plastic to isolate it and prevent accidental activation during transport.

A notice was attached to the flashlight with the message: “For transport safety, the battery power is low. Please charge it to full (4.2V) before using for better performance.”. To charge the included cell to 4.20V for testing, I used an external charger. The cell fits in most of my external chargers despite having a length of 76.4mm.

Protected button top 21700 cells fit inside the Cyansky P25 V2.0. An unprotected flat top Samsung 40T 21700 cell worked but it rattled and disconnected when the flashlight was knocked around.

A LED in the button top turned red while the cell was charging and it changed to green when charging was complete.

I discharged the cell to 2.6V and connected it to a USB-C power supply (USB-C to USB-C works). The cell finished charging after 4h6min with a voltage of 4.16V. The charging current peaked at around 1.4A.

Performance test

Lumen measurements

I built a lumen tube and forked bmengineer’s project RuTiTe to add support for a VEML7700 light sensor and MCP9808 temperature sensor with help from Owen. The Cyansky P25 V2.0 made me question the accuracy of my DIY lumen tube when measuring flashlights that produce more than 1200 lumens. I replaced the sensor with a TSL2591 and calibrated the lumen tube with a flashlight from maukka. My DIY lumen tube now appears to be slightly more accurate. Note: Lumen measurements may be off by 10% with my DIY lumen tube. Temperature may vary due to the room temperature changing.

I used a UNI-T UT210E clamp meter and 8awg wire to measure the current at turn on.

The included cell was used for testing and charged to 4.20V before each runtime test and before measuring the current at turn on.

ModeAmps at startSpecsLumens @turn onLumens @30 secLumens @10 minutes
Eco0.04 A5999
Low0.10 A50575656
Medium0.35 A200249246245
High1.37 A800848834824
Turbo11.08 A3600390237201144

Parasitic drain:

  • No parasitic drain. This flashlight has a mechanical tail switch.

Battery Life: Runtime graphs

It is amazing to see that Cyansky has included a runtime graph in the user manual. After doing runtime tests myself, I found that the P25 V2.0 slightly exceeded the manufacturer specifications. Trust, but verify!

ModeSpecified runtimeMeasured runtime (ANSI)Time till shut off
Eco80h
Low25h26h26h+
Medium10h11h37m11h37m
High3h3h13m4h+
Turbo2h1h54m3h+

I stopped runtime testing for Low at 26 hours, High at 4 hours, and Turbo at 3 hours. The flashlight continued to run with a low light output of around 50 lumens for those modes. I tested Eco for 11 minutes to get lumen measurements for the first 10 minutes.

ANSI FL1 standards: The runtime is measured until the light drops to 10% of its initial output (30 seconds after turning on). This does not mean that the flashlight is not usable anymore. The last column shows how long the light actually works till it shuts off. If there is a + symbol, it means that the test was stopped at that particular point, but the light was actually still running. This happens on certain occasions, with certain drivers, firmware, or batteries.

Peak beam intensity and beam distance measurements

I took lux measurements with a UNI-T UT383BT after 30 seconds for each mode. Eco and Low were measured at two meters. Medium, High and Turbo were measured at five meters.

The included cell was used and charged to 4.20V before measuring each mode.

ModeSpecsCandela measured MetersYards
Eco1267
Low144 cd1562426
Medium600 cd7255358
High2,350 cd3,075110120
Turbo10,800 cd14,100 cd237259

Extra info: Peak beam distance according to ANSI FL1 standards: The calculated value of distance in meters at which the flashlight produces a light intensity of 0.25 lux. (0.25 lux is about the brightness of a full moon shining on an object).

Beamshots

I went to a local park and aimed the Cyansky P25 V2.0 at a tree 70 meters away while using Turbo.  

Beamshots were taken using a Sony RX100M2 using 3.2″, f3.2, ISO 100, 5000K WB.

Beamshots compared to the following flashlights:

  • Cyansky P25 v2
  • Brinyte E18 Pheme
  • VezerLezer ED10
  • Olight Warrior Mini 2

Disclaimer: This flashlight was sent to me for review at no cost by Cyansky. I have not been paid to review, nor have I been holding back on problems or defects.

Final Verdict

Pros

  1. Excellent build quality
  2. Simple user interface
  3. Light output is well regulated
  4. Well-thought-out kit provided
  5. 21700 cell with USB-C charging included

Cons

  1. Low CRI
  2. Micro-arc oxidation coating stains easily

Explanation on star ratings:

1: Avoid: a match would be a better choice – 2: Poor: significant defect or issues; almost unusable – 3: Average: some defects or issues; but still usable 4: Good: recommended (minor issues) – 5: Great: highly recommended

Author: Tim

4.5 stars: ★★★★⋆

The Cyansky P25 V2.0 is definitely an improvement over the first version. It throws further with a beam distance of 208 meters on Turbo. It has an additional Eco mode for 9 lumens which is much better for EDC use. And it has improved regulation with smooth light output on Turbo.

The micro-arc oxidation coating feels smooth and almost chalky but it stains easily. Other manufacturers have reported similar issues. Perhaps this is something to be mindful of when getting a MAO coated flashlight. It is something that can be improved.

I would have preferred a slightly higher CRI given that this is an Outdoor EDC flashlight. The XHP70.3 emitter is around 71 CRI. That said, I enjoy carrying this while walking around a park at night. It clearly lights up the path and everything around it.

It is a little expensive at US$99.95. But you get a complete kit with: flashlight, battery with built-in USB-C charging, charging cable and a holster.

The build quality is excellent and it performs better than the manufacturer specifications as a pocket flooder.

Cyansky P25 v2 for sale

1lumen selects and reviews products personally. We may earn affiliate commissions through our links, which help support our testing.